Notebook, 1993-


Ancient Greek Philosophy
Chronological Summary

1. Pre-Socratic:
Thales 625-546 B.C.
Anaximander 610-546 B.C.
Anaximenes 585-525 B.C.
Pythagoras 570-496 B.C.
Xenophanes 570-470 B.C.
Heraclitus 540-480 B.C.
Parmenides 515-440 B.C.
Anaxagoras 500-428 B.C.
Empedocles 492-432 B.C.
Democritus 460-370 B.C.

2. Sophistic:
Protagoras 490/85-420/15 B.C.
Gorgias 483-376 B.C.

3. Attic:
Socrates 470-399 B.C.
Plato 427-347 B.C.
Aristotle 384-322 B.C.

4. Hellenistic:
Zeno 333-262 B.C.
Cleanthes 331-232 B.C.
Chrysippus 280-210 B.C.
Epicurus 341-270 B.C.
Pyrrho 360-270 B.C.

5. Neoplatonic:
Plotinus 205-270 A.D.

[p. 187]

[Kyriazis, Constantine D. Eternal Greece. Translated by Harry T. Hionides. A Chat Publication.]



The contents of this site, including all images and text, are for personal, educational, non-commercial use only. The contents of this site may not be reproduced in any form without proper reference to Text, Author, Publisher, and Date of Publication [and page #s when suitable].